People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Algeria, officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, also formally referred to as the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria, is a large country in the Maghreb region of Northwest Africa with Algiers as its capital.

MapsWhen referring to its land area, Algeria is the largest country in Africa, Maghreb المغرب العربيّ and the Arab World العالم العربيّ . It is also the largest of the countries bordering the Mediterranean Sea; it is also the tenth-largest country in the world. The country is bordered in the northeast by Tunisia, in the east by Libya, in the west by Morocco, in the southwest by Western Sahara, Mauritania, and Mali, in the southeast by Niger, and in the north by the Mediterranean Sea. Its size is almost 2,400,000 square kilometres (926,645 sq mi) with an estimated population of 37.1 million as of 2012.[4] Algeria is a member of the African Union الاتّحاد الافريقيّ , the Arab League, OPEC and the United Nations. The country is also a founding member of the Arab Maghreb Union اتّحاد المغرب العربيّ .



The country's name is derived from the city of Algiers. The most common etymology links the city name to al-Jazā'ir (الجزائر, "The Islands"), a truncated form of the city's older name Jazā'ir Banī Mazghanna (جزائر بني مزغنة, "Islands of the Mazghanna Tribe"), employed by medieval geographers such as al-Idrisi. Others trace it to Ldzayer, the Maghrebi Arabic and Berber اللهجات البربريّة for "Algeria" possibly related to the Zirid Dynasty King Ziri ibn-Manad and founder of the city of Algiers.

« Prev Post
Next Post »